Pineapple, Strawberry & Orange White Sangria

Happy summertime! After a very harsh winter a cool start to spring, it feels like in the past couple of weeks summer has truly landed in Maine. It’s been hot and humid with lots of sunshine and even a huge thunderstorm last night! Memorial Day and my birthday have always felt like the gateways to summer for me.

Yesterday I turned 26, and to celebrate I had a bunch of friends go out to a local arcade/bar called Arcadia National Bar. I had also had my roommates from school, my brother in law, and my brother + his girlfriend stay with me and my husband. I wanted to do something special for us all before we met up with everyone else, and I figured with the warm weather we’ve been having that Sangria would be perfect.

I’ve never made Sangria before, so this was a bit of an adventure! But after reading up on different recipes and finding this great pin on the anatomy of Sangria I decided to come up with my own recipe. Most Sangria usually calls for brandy to be added, but because the Riesling and pineapple is so sweet, I wanted to have the dry tartness of champagne for balance. Plus – it’s fun and fizzy!

This Sangria ended up being absolutely delicious. So delicious, in fact, that I completely forgot to get a good photo of it before it was completely gone! I also realized that next time it might not be a bad idea to double the recipe. With 7 of us partaking it disappeared way too quickly.

Pineapple, Strawberry & Orange White Sangria

You’ll need:

  • One 750ml bottle of Riesling
  • One 750ml bottle of extra dry champagne (I like Freixenet)
  • One 6oz can pineapple juice
  • 1/2 pint of strawberries
  • One 8oz can pineapple chunks in juice
  • 1 small naval orange

Empty the can of pineapple chunks into a large pitcher. Stem and quarter the strawberries and add to pitcher. Cut the orange (with peel still on) into thin slices. Push any seeds out from the middles of the slices and lay them on top of the strawberries. Pour the can of pineapple juice into pitcher. Add the bottle of Riesling, cover pitcher and place in fridge for at least 3 hours but up to 24. When ready to serve, pour the full bottle of champagne in, gently stir, and serve. Enjoy!

Sangria

