Homemade Devil’s Food Cake with Buttercream Frosting and Chocolate Sauce

Hi internet. I’ve been gone for a few months.

I knew I would blog again and I wasn’t going to acknowledge the gap in posts but, well, here I am acknowledging it. I got thrown into a lot of busy things at school and just never had the time to really sit down and blog, but now that I’ve got four months off maybe I can change that!

In a couple days it’s my wonderful husband’s birthday, but in the spirit of busy schedules he asked to have his cake today instead of Tuesday (his actual birthday) so that he could “take his time and enjoy it without being rushed”.

Riiiiiiight. I think maybe he just wanted cake early ;) But I’m happy to oblige him with this homemade devil’s food cake with buttercream frosting and chocolate sauce!

I had originally intended to duplicate this cake, but I couldn’t find my two 9 inch cake pans, so instead I opted for a larger 10 inch single layer cake. The result was a much easier to construct and frost dessert. The cake itself is rich, moist & chocolatey without being overly sweet. The addition of a full cup of espresso into the mixture adds amazing depth to the flavor. The frosting is sweet but not over powering. Perfect with a glass of milk, or in my husband’s case, a cup of tea.

Recipe for cake and frosting below!

Devils Food Cake resized

I based my cake recipe on this one from Food.com, but I used 1 cup of hot espresso instead of coffee. I sifted the flour once, and then sifted all the drying ingredients together before adding the wet. I feel like this made a big difference in the texture of the cake – it was smooth and well mixed, with the chocolate flavor intense but even throughout the cake.

I used a 10 inch spring form pan, and needed to bake my cake for about 30-40 minutes before it was set in the middle.

I based my frosting off of this recipe from savorysweetforlife.com. I ended up having to use 2 sticks of salted butter instead of unsalted, so I omitted the extra 1/4 teaspoon of salt.
My frosting used 3 cups of confectioners sugar, 3 tablespoons of heavy cream, and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. After the ingredients were fully incorporated I turned my stand mixer onto a high setting to fluff up the frosting. It was just enough to do a crumb coat and then fully frost the entire cake.

I had planned to do a homemade chocolate caramel sauce, but I ended up cutting a little corner and buying a store bought chocolate sauce. The grocery store happened to have Pemberton’s gourmet chocolate sauce in the icecream section, so I picked up a jar and it turned out really nicely.

Devil Food Cake action1

