Reviewed & Revisited: Gelous Nail Gel Polish

For Christmas I received a bottle of Gelous Advanced Nail Gel Coat, something I’ve been wanting for quite some time.

I used the day after I got it to give myself a manicure along with Essie polish “Berry Naughty”.

gelous and berry naughty

I use Gelous as a base coat to strengthen my nails and give the polish something to really grab onto. I used a quick dry top coat to finish it off. I was very impressed with how well it held up! After I gave myself the manicure I was out of town for over a week, and didn’t get a chance to add any more top coats to refresh the seal. The polish did end up giving way after about 5 days of cold weather, cooking, and hot water.

I took the polish off and was pleasantly surprised to find that rather than my nails feeling dry and brittle as the normally do when I use nail polish remover, they instead were thick and strong! So strong in fact that I decided not to cut them short, but instead file them into shape and let them stay.

Last night I decided to try the Gelous again, this time with a nail polish from Sephora by OPI called Nonfat Soy Half Caff (which I’ve reviewed right here).

gelous and nonfat soy half caff

It makes me nervous not to have my nails short but the gel polish makes them feeling super strong, and I really like the way one coat of the color polish gives a neutral, natural look to my nails.

When using Gelous be mindful to only have a small amount on the polish  brush as it is incredibly thick. Just a small coat however will dry quickly and give great results. You can pick up Gelous at Sally’s Beauty for about $6.


Shopping Local: Spa Tech, Westbrook Maine

Shopping Local: Spa Tech, Westbrook Maine

Review: Havana Dreams

Review: Havana Dreams

Review: Non Fat Soy Haff Caff

Review: Non Fat Soy Haff Caff

A Subtle Valentine's Day Manicure

A Subtle Valentine’s Day Manicure

