Braided Gibson Tuck

Darn… I’ve been trying to do a post every week on Fridays, and realized this afternoon that I never posted yesterday. Here we go!

I’ve been playing around with this style a little bit, I really like this particular variation on the very popular gibson tuck.

You’ll need:

  • Brush/Comb
  • Hairspray
  • 3 elastics
  • Bobby pins

Start by sectioning off two chunks of hair on each side of your head, braid them backwards and secure with hair ties (doesn’t matter the color, you’ll be removing the ties). This time around I just did a regular three strand braid, but you could french braid the sides or do a fishtail.

two braids

Gather the two  braids and the rest of your hair into a low pony tail. At this point you can remove the two elastics that were securing your braid. Now you want to gently pull your hair apart, above the pony tail elastic, to make a little pocket for the tuck.

If you aren’t familiar with this technique I really like The Freckled Fox’s guide! Tuck your hair into the pocket, and then secure using bobby pins. Mist a little hairspray and you are good to go!

finished back 1

And of course the baby wanted to help…

helping momma

I like this because it is so. darn. easy. I like easy! And, low hairstyles are always a favorite for me because my hair is so heavy that it can give me headaches if I’m not careful how I style it.

Have fun and good luck!

 

