XXI + VS Haul

I feel a little weird calling it a haul when it’s just three things, but anyway…!

purse and bathing suit

 

Medium sized, mustard yellow cross body purse from Forever 21. Looks like the website doesn’t show the yellow option, only the red, green and blue. You can check them out here.

I am also super excited that I was able to find a bathing suit that I LOVE. Most bathing suits are cut so so small and skimpy, I just don’t feel comfortable in them. While looking around the bottoms in Forever 21 I was struck by how particularly small their stuff runs, and it occurred to me that if their straight sizes were this tiny that their plus size might be more reasonable for my body. Low and behold I was right – I picked up a super cute high waisted bottom in an XL and it fit me. The waist band is just a tiny bit loose, but still tight enough to feel comfortable and secure. It has a full coverage cut in the back, and what’s even more awesome is that it’s only $12.

Unfortunately I didn’t have any luck with their bikini tops. The cut and design on them just seems very odd and unflattering, I’m not sure what body type they are aiming for. The one piece suits in the plus section have very large cups and bust areas to accommodate a plus size bust, but the plus size bikini tops seem strangely small and not designed to be able to support a D+ cup sizes.

I knew I’d never be able to match the red tone so I decided I’d go for a mix-match look. I checked out this striped triangle top and this bandeau style but neither were incredibly flattering, so I headed over to Victoria’s Secret, showed them the bottoms I had gotten and told them I was hoping for a top in either blue/white stripes or just white. I ended up getting something similar to this but with a lace type texture instead of ruching.

Overall very pleased, and now it just needs to stop raining so I can get to the beach!

