DIY Lavender & Gelatin Face Mask

Reposting from my Tumblr with a few new notes!

I think it’s important to realize that this mask is not going to grab each individual blackhead out of your face: what it DOES do is help remove a lot of dead skin, cut down on excess oil and help unclog your pores more so that your facial cleansers and moisturizers can do their job.

I use this mask more frequently (about once every 3-4 weeks) during the spring and summer when I’m sweating more and my skin is oilier. In the winter I’m more sparing with it, using it only once every a few months to help wake up my face.

tumblr_inline_mor2bvUNg81qz4rgp

What you need:

  • 1/2 tablespoon unflavored gelatin
  • 1/2 tablespoon water
  • 1-2 drops essential oil (Here I use Lavender, I’ve also used white grapefruit which is very refreshing)
  • mixing container (microwavable tupperware is good)
  • stirring device (popsicle sticks work well)

This is not a new idea, I’ve seen it posted everywhere on Pinterest however I’ve made it my own by doing some small tweaks. I love this gelatin mask because it works better than the usual pore strips you find at the drugstore, and it is much much cheaper.

In my version I’ve opted for water instead of milk, and adding essential oil, both for the same reason – to improve the smell! A lot of tutorials don’t mention that plain, unflavored gelatin smells terrible and only gets worse when wet and heated up in the microwave. You don’t absolutely need the oil, and I’ve done the mask without it, but it is WAY more pleasant with a nice smell added in.

Mix dry gelatin, water and oil together till the mixture is clumpy.

Microwave for 10 seconds. Immediately remove from microwave and stir with the popsicle stick. It should be completely melted and quite liquid, however it will start to cool and solidify very quickly so you want to be ready to put it on your face as soon as it comes out of the microwave.

Apply a thin coating to your chin, nose and any other pore area that needs cleansing. Avoid sensitive areas around your eyes and mouth, and be extra careful near your hairline and eyebrows. The mixture WILL pull out hair.

Relax for about 10-15 minutes while the gelatin sets and dries. It will become shiny when it’s ready to pull up, and the edges of the mask may start to look a little flaky. Pick any edge then slowly and gently pull the mask off your face. The gelatin will pull up dead skin, oil from your pores, and most likely some of the little ‘peach fuzz’ hairs on your face.

tumblr_inline_mor2jbRZIq1qz4rgp

On the left: the mask right after applying. On the right: the mask once it dries.

I then like to use a soft, damp cloth to remove any last bits of mask and dirt from my face, and then moisturize.

 

